Monday, January 29, 2007

BMC elections 2007 - a checklist

BMC elections take place today.

How to vote -
You should have received your election slip notifying you of your polling station. This, of course, assumes that you are on the election roll in the first place*.

To know if you are on the roll, go to the Chief Electoral Officer’s website here and click on the "Search Electoral Rolls" link on your right. Believe it or not, the Maharashtra State Government has put the entire electoral roll on the internet.

So, please check if your name is there on the rolls. In fact, not only your name, you can check if your family’s name – AND –that of your entire neighbourhood is there on the roll. Phew!

Along with the election slip, carry some proof of identification (driving license, passport, etc for a more comprehensive list, go here).

Carry the Election slip + proof of ID and cast your vote at the polling station.

Who to vote for

1. Which ward do you stay in?

Mumbai is divided 24 "Administrative wards" that run from A through T, loosely following a south-to-north flow. Each ward has its own boundaries. The first administrative ward, i.e. Ward A starts roughly at Navy Nagar and covers Churchgate, Colaba, Fort, etc. while the last ward is Ward T which roughly covers Airoli, Mulund and Borivali.

To know your administrative ward (i.e. A to T) by your railway station go to the drop-down menu at Agni's website here.

Once you have the ward alphabet, to know more about your ward (like its population- male and female, how many eateries - yes eateries - it has, etc) go to the BMC's ward-wise page here.

By locality, these areas are then divided (this time numerically) into 227 "Electoral Wards". For example, Khira Nagar comes under Ward No. 92, Pali Market is covered under Ward No. 96, Lilavati Hospital comes under Ward No. 97, so on and so forth.

Your election slip should already have your ward number, but in any case to get your ward number (i.e. 1 to 227) download this is a PowerPoint file in Marathi here .

2. Who is your current councillor?
Each electoral ward then has its own BMC councillor. These councillors run your electoral ward. Think of it as the person in charge for maintaining your neighbourhood.

To know your councillor, just go straight to the BMC website and find out who your current councillor is, by typing your administrative ward (i.e. A, B, C, etc).

3. Finally, who to choose
In an earlier post, I’d mentioned how AGNI and ADR are rating all the BMC candidates.

The ratings have been completed and are being carried in the Mumbai Mirror newspaper. In all there are some 3,600 candidates for the 227 ward councillor seats. Given below are the links to the ratings of all the candidates per electoral ward number.

So, get your election slip and check your ward number.

Then click on the relevant link below for your ward.

You should see the list of candidates standing for the elections in your local ward, along with their ratings (ranked 1 to 5, where 5 stars means"Wow")

Note - in some cases, the numbering is not continuous (like Ward 93 which is listed separately)

Ward nos. 1 to 39 link here

Ward nos. 40 to 57 link here

Ward nos. 58 to 85 link here

Ward nos. 86 to 126 link here

Ward nos 127 to 151 link here

Ward nos 152 to 187 (and 93) link here

Ward nos 188 to 217 link here

Ward nos 218 to 227 (incl. 83 and 149) link here (list concluded)

Update: ADR has put these ratings on their own website.

It really can't get bigger than this. A billion dollar budget, 15million people, a city in a mess. Have your say.

Go vote.

* - if your name is not there on the list, you've probably missed out on the deadline for this election. Visit/call/e-mail AGNI and Karmayog for further details.

Technorati tags: , , , , , , .